BORDER MAYORS ASSOCIATION RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, on January 21st, Southwest Border Mayors from the United States and México met with U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Alan Bersin; and

WHEREAS, this meeting resulted in the creation of the U.S. - México Border Mayors Association; and

WHEREAS, the association is made up of cities from the States of Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California and the Mexican States of Chihuahua, Baja California, Sonora, Coahuila and Tamaulipas; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Association is to help in the formulation of policies that affect the border communities of México and the United States; and

WHEREAS, since the signing of the North America Free Trade Agreement, our borders have become more important to the economies of both México and the United States. Over \$325 billion in trade flowed back and forth across our southern borders in 2010. Any successful plan to increase the flow of trade between the countries must have the input of the border mayors into the policies targeting the flow of trade. Mayors on both sides of the border have unique understandings of economic development, industrial recruitment and border security and a realization that policies must be balanced if the border regions are to be competitive in a global economy; and

WHEREAS, while trade with México accounts for a significant part of the U.S. economy, few people not living in border communities understand the dynamics and challenges border communities face. Often times, national policies are formulated without a true understanding of how they will impact not only border communities but the economies of entire nations; and

WHEREAS, the City of El Paso hosted the historic inaugural meeting of the U.S. – México Border Mayors Association on Tuesday, August 16, 2011; and

WHEREAS, the association unanimously agreed that the major focus of the organization should be to address the border wait times and improve the flow of trade while insuring that security is not compromised;

NOW THERFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the U.S. – México Border Mayors Association that our number one priority of reducing border wait times and insuring that security is not compromised will be presented to the leadership of the federal governments of the United States of America and the Republic of México.

PASSED AND APPROVED THE 16TH DAY OF AUGUST, 2011.

the look

John F. Cook Mayor of El Paso, TX

Chi Meggelina

Ken Miyagishima Mayor of Las Cruces, NM

& Muchant Home,

Michael Gomez Mayor of Douglas, AZ

Richard Fimbres Vice Mayor of Tucson, AZ

Jehow J. Jumber Alm & Kiegen

Alan Krieger Mayor of Yuma, AZ

Juan C Escamelle

Juan Carlos Escamilla Mayor of San Luis, AZ

Arturo R. Garino Mayor of Nogales, AZ

Liewy 7 links

Richard F. Cortez Mayor of McAllen, TX

Madeleine Praino Mayor of Vinton, TX

Walter L. Miller Mayor of Horizon, TX

Frank K. Paiz

Lorenzo Hernandez Mayor of Presidio, TX **Obed Contreras** Council Member of Presidio, TX

Juan Diego Guajardo Anarthya Tamaulipas, MX Mayor of Rio Brayo

Carlos Bustamante Anchondo Mayor of Tijuana, Baja California, MX

Tribal Governor of Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo, TX

Héctor "Teto" Agustín Murguía Lardizábal Mayor of Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, MX